The dynamic British-Norwegian blues guitarist Krissy Matthews released his explosive new single ‘Queen’ featuring powerhouse Kim Jennett. He is ready to take the single on board for a 50-date European tour throughout spring 2024.

On March 29th, the brand new track was released, to be followed by the double album Krissy Matthews and Friends via German label Ruf Records. 

Krissy Matthews has already recorded three albums, played onstage with John Mayall and the late great Jeff Healey, and received industry advice from the legendary B.B. King, all before turning 18 years old. The new track is a masterful ode to his previous 2021 record, Pizza Man Blues, with a heavy rock influence and striking message.

He said of the song, “I wrote this song about a particular person in my life at the time I could not stand,‘ explains Krissy. It is a song of anger. I needed a real rock voice on this, and Kim was the perfect solution. She may be small, but the voice that comes out of her is pure dynamite.

He is joined on the single by Manchester born Kim Jennett, who is no stranger to the scene. As the ex-lead singer of blues-tinged rock outfit Voodoo Blood and a dynamic run on The Voice UK, her vocals underpin this belter of a track.


The review: This is what hard blues edged rock sounds like in 2024. The song has an interesting, grungy, heavy sound with vocals that spit nails and deliver the lyrics with energy and passion. The guitars and drums (some really powerful drumming here) deliver this dirty, heavy sound and the guitar solo that hits us midway is a classy piece of blues driven rock. So, I thought this was a great track, with a classy guitarist linked to “this dirty little mistress,” making one hell of a combo.

For the European leg of the tour, Krissy will be joined on some of the shows by amazing guests such as Gerry McAvoy, Gert Lange (Hamburg Blues Band), Malcolm Bruce, Will Wilde, Jess Hayes, Kim Jennett, Marlia Rae, Kai Strauss and Emely Myles.  And in the UK, Krissy will bring his fantastic new trio, featuring Polish dynamite Slawek Semeniuk on bass and Belgian thunder Gerry Reynders on drums.

Artist Website here

All dates and tickets are available HERE, full UK dates are below.


29 Temperance, Leamington Spa, UK

30 Bannerman’s Bar, Edinburgh, UK

31 Grayston Unity, Halifax, UK


1 The Flying Circus, Newark, UK

2 Bluefunk, Poynton, UK

3 Pizza Express Holborn, London, UK

4 Tuesday Club, Coulsdon, UK

5 Apple Tree, Sittingbourne, UK

6 The Bullingdon, Oxford, UK

7 The Bear, Luton, UK

8 Arts Centre, Hungerford, UK

9 Tree House, Frome, UK

And I hope you liked the review, dear reader! If you did, please check out the other pages of the magazine; we have many great features, merchandise, editorials and even poetry! We work hard for you, and if you want to show some appreciation and support what we do, then do use the Support Us link below! Always appreciated.

By Stevie Ritson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.